Raising Martha Review (NO SPOILERS)

So the other week I was lucky enough to get to go and see a new play that’s on at Park Theatre in Finsbury Park called Raising Martha. I got to see it on it’s last preview day (thanks to mum for getting us free tickets) and I feel like I need to talk about it.

So Raising Martha follows two stories that are joint by one thing – Martha, a dead grandmother. One group have dug up the bones of Martha demanding that her family sell the frog farm that they own. The other are the family that own the frog farm. Issues and mysteries unfurl to reveal that there might perhaps be something more than Martha connecting the two.

Honestly my favourite part of the show was the stage and auditorium. The Park Theatre has an incredible space that looks exactly what I would imagine when you say “cool theatre space”. I loved the atmosphere we as the audience walked into and the set was also fun to see.

The play was told well with good performances from all the cast. Some light moments of comedy attempted the contrast with the dark themes of the play, having the audience laughing out loud often.

Despite this, I’m afraid to say this play wasn’t for me and it’s help me realise that I don’t enjoy dark comedy at all. A particularly nasty scene was when one character, whilst on drugs, gets his intestines pulled out by 6ft frogs. As someone who cannot deal with gore or many violent acts, especially live on stage, I literally had to cover my eyes at this scene.
However, I do understand and appreciate that it was a good play that many members of the audience seemed to have enjoyed, even though I wasn’t one of them. It’s a well written and performed play that surrounds many adult topics (I would honestly say 16/18+ at least) in the style of dark comedy.

Overall, I would subjectively give this 1 out of 5 stars but objectively give it 4. Even though I didn’t enjoy it, I hope I’ve explained it well enough for other people who are into this style of play to want to go and see it.

You can buy tickets and find out more information HERE.

Byee! 🙂

Leave a Reply

