Beautiful Broken Things by Sarah Barnard Review (NO SPOILERS)

What a book. Wow. I’m still not totally sure whether I love it or hate it but all I know is that the cover’s a little deceiving. It made me think it’ll be a nice light read like Fangirl but oh no no no – this is really quite dark for a contemporary.

This is Caddy’s story. She’s turned 16 and she has three wishes; to get a boyfriend, to lose her virginity and to have a Significant Life Event. A new girl, Suzanne arrives at Caddy’s best friend’s school and the three become good friends. However there may be more to Suzanne than Caddy realises.

Like I said at the beginning, the cover’s deceiving – this is not a light read. It deals with serious mental health issues and how it affects the surrounding people. When I say serious, I mean scary serious. Like abuse serious (also TW for abuse). But, I did like how deep and serious it got without seeming rude or ignorant. I really felt for both characters and it’s amazing how strong of a friendship they have. I loved Caddy and was amazed by how brave and persistent she was. I’ve been in similar situations (not to the extreme extent though) where a friend was having problems I didn’t know what to do. Had I read this book before hand, whilst admittedly she’s a little reckless, I think it would have taught me to be more persistent.
The realness of Rosie was entertaining as well.

Overall I give it 3 out of 5 stars. It was not at all what I was expecting or what it started out to be which made it difficult for me to thoroughly enjoy it. I did like it; it’s a good plot, real characters (I particularly connect with Caddy), well written, but just not what I expected.

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts? Let me know down below!

If you want more information on the book, click on the Goodreads page HERE.

Byee! 🙂

Leave a Reply

