If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo Review (NO SPOILERS)

If you followed me on Panda’s Stuff/Books, you’ll know that last year I read The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson, not only to just read a good book, but to become more educated in the subject of transgender/transexual stuff and this one adds to it. It is also a #ownvoices book and this review is part of Read Diverse 2017 and Diversity Bingo 2017.

So this book follows Amanda Hardy who’s moved to live with her dad who’s used to having a son and is finding it difficult to come to terms with having a daughter instead. Amanda enrolls at the local high school makes friends and meets Grant and we see her journey through making the friends and falling in love with Grant whilst carrying a great secret.

I really enjoyed this book and it’s making me a lot more comfortable with the idea of trans stuff. I’ve said this a few times on my previous blogs, about two years ago I was pretty uncomfortable and uneducated on this subject but this book has helped me open my eyes up even more (in addition to other things of course). I also loved the notes at the end from Russo to cisgendered people and transgendered people.

I loved the character of Amanda’s Dad in this strangely enough. I don’t know how realistic his character is, I don’t know any trans people in real life, but I would imagine that his reaction was realistic with finding it difficult to understand the topic, but still trying to, as opposed to 100% completely accepting it/throwing their kid out. Grant was lovely as well. He was sweet and caring and I’m keen to know what happens to him.
Amanda’s friends were also so sweet and supportive and worth a mention, even if I don’t have anything else to say about them.

A criticism I’ve seen from other people’s reviews, and agree with, is that it’s too fast paced. I agree. I would’ve liked to have invested more time in getting to know each character before events occurred to maybe feel a bit more connected to them – the book could’ve done with an extra 100 pages or so but I think it still wrapped up nicely and neatly and I really did enjoy it.

Overall, I give it 4 out of 5 stars. I’d also like to mention this is the first book I’ve read in like one day this year (bit of a reading slump atm 😦 ).

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts? Let me know down below!

If you want more information on this book, you can head on over to the Goodreads page HERE.

Byee!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

