Push Girl by Chelsie Hill and Jessica Love Review (NO SPOILERS)

This review is part of Read Diverse 2017 and Diversity Bingo.

Push Girl follows the story of Kara, a popular girl at school. She has the hottest boyfriend, cool friends and is a shoe-in for homecoming queen. But then one night she gets into a car accident which leaves her paraplegic and forcing her to begin using a wheelchair.

I’ve mentioned this in a previous post I think, but I’m a recently converted Gleek and my favourite character is Artie, the wheelchair kid (because 1: he is an incredible singer, 2: such a sweet and funny character, and 3: hot damn). So ever since I started binge-watching the show, the issue of physical disability and wheelchair-bound people has really come to my attention. Like last summer I was in town a lot and noticed so many people in wheelchairs – whether it was an unusually large influx or I’ve just been noticing it more, I don’t know. So anyway, these stories really interest me and I was considering using an Artie fanfiction to cover this base but you know, I should probably broaden my horizons than just Glee. So.

I enjoyed this book. It was a nice light read. It was interesting to see the struggles Kara went through as someone who didn’t even know this world of disabled people even existed (Kara, not me). I like her character development and how she learns to bite her tongue in necessary times and her comebacks became a little wittier.

I really liked the character of Amanda but I wish we could’ve gotten more out of her. I feel like she had so much more unseen potential to be more gutsy.

Overall, I did enjoy the book, but I wish it’d been longer or denser. I want to learn more about this subject and I don’t feel like I got anything new from this book. That being said, I do still recommend this, whether you are in a wheelchair or you’ve never met anyone like that in your life. It’s not too difficult of a read. I give it 3.5 stars out of 5 (I feel like 3’s too harsh but 4’s too generous).

Have you read this book? What were your thoughts? Let me know down below!

If you want more information on this book, you can head on over to the Goodreads page HERE.

Byee!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

