Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell Review (NO SPOILERS)

Okay so Fangirl came out like 4 years ago and I’ve read it about 5 times since I bought it 2 years ago. Yet I’ve never talked about on any blog. I always refer to it as THE contemporary YA novel to read, but I’ve never actually reviewed it. Until now.

(also warning this is a jumbled up mess of me attempting to review but also loving it)

Fangirl is about Cath who moves away to college with her twin sister Wren. The two have been inseparable but at college, Wren decides to expand her social life by going out whilst Cath is scared to let go what she had. Instead she focuses on writing her Simon Snow fanfiction and faces her own struggles.

So. Oh. My. Goodness. If you are into Contemporary YA lit, you need to read this book. I feel like this is like the Harry Potter of YA contemporary (okay that might be pushing it but you know what I mean). I love every aspect of this book. The relationship between Cath and Levi it enviable, her writing skills and achievements are incredible, her thought process is relatable.

This is particularly relatable for me as (as you would’ve guessed), I used to write fanfiction with some success (10k+ view on Wattpad pls follow me). It also raises the question; is fanfiction literature? Thinking about it now, I think I’ll write a post on that so I won’t answer it here but look out for that post!

When this book first came out, I thought is was a non fiction one about being a fangirl and when I realised it wasn’t, it put me off. So when I came back to it, I went in, knowing it wasn’t about fangirling and fandoms. I say this because this is a criticism that I’ve seen around that it doesn’t go into full detail about being a fangirl, which it doesn’t and, like I said above, it’s about Cath, not about fangirling in general.

Anyway. Overall, 5 out of 5 stars from me, as you guessed. The book is just as good every time I read it. Please read it. It’s so good. Okay I’m guna stop rambling now. But please read it.

Did you like this book? Why? Why not? Let me know down below!

If you want more information on this book, you can check it out on Goodreads HERE.

Byee! 🙂

Leave a Reply

