Kinky Boots Review

Soooo I was lucky enough to manage to get good tickets to see Kinky Boots the other day (probably our 3rd time lucky with the half price ticket booths in Leicester Square – it’s worth having a look there if you’re interested). I’d heard good things about it but I didn’t really know what it was about, I didn’t know any songs from it etc… But we were looking for something to see and it was something on my list of things to see, admittedly not too high but still there, so we gave it a shot and wow was it worth it.

Kinky Boots has Charlie, who’s father own a shoe factory, which gets passed down to Charlie, who struggles to find a way to keep it open. Lola’s a drag queen who meets Charlie by knocking him out with his shoe. The story then follows Charlie and Lola (yes, I know, not the ones you think) in their journey of saving the shoe shop, developing an unusual friendship and ultimately, acceptance.

The show tackles so many issues that are current in today’s society such as cross dressing, choosing your own path, feminism, and like I said above, acceptance. Acceptance is a huge theme in the show from pretty much every single character – highlighting that no one’s perfect, even if they seem to be.

With feminism, they question “what is a man?” – which I believe is a very important message we need to spread and be thinking about. Not to get too into the nitty gritty of this subject in a short review, but this is a topic that fascinates me and that I’m very passionate about. I’d like to mention though, my dad is almost the opposite of me on this topic, and he really liked this as well.

The music was incredibly catchy, fun and upbeat as well as some awe-inspiring ballads, admittedly some were predictable, but hey, what’s wrong with a little predictability from time to time?

David Hunter and Matt Henry, the performers behind Charlie and Lola respectively, have the most incredible voices and absolutely nailed their solos. Hold Me In Your Heart was particularly emotional. Elena Skye as Lauren was also amazing, especially for her West End debut. She brought a comedic and supportive character to the table with vocals that would have me to believe she’s done many West End/Broadway shows before this. And finally, the Angels. Holy moly. I mean I can walk in heels, but these fully grown men dancing, and doing cartwheels and handsprings in 6inch heels? That checks “talent” in my book 10 times. They also looked incredible.

One final thing I’d like to mention is the lighting in the finale. When I think of a colourful musical, that is exactly what I want and Kinky Boots has been the only show to give me that. It’s so colourful and flashy and I. LOVED. It.

Alright, so as you can tell, I really enjoyed this. Additionally, my mum, dad and little sister loved it as well, all of whom are of a different age category to me, and some of whom don’t hold the same, open-mindedness and views as me. I give it a very well deserved 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Kinky Boots is playing at the Adelphi Theatre in the UK and Al Hirschfeld Theatre in the US. You can get more information for the UK HERE, and the US HERE.
Please note – the recommended age is 8+.

Byee!! 🙂

PS – Cats fans will note that the Adelphi Theatre is where the Cats video was filmed. I’ve been fangirling for 3 musicals whilst only seeing 2 this weekend ❤

Leave a Reply

