#iwd : Inspirational Women

on

So if you didn’t know, today is International Women’s Day and I’ve been thinking all day about what to say about it, because I want to say something. So I thought why not compile a list of women that I find inspirational – note, that I find inspirational.

These aren’t in any particular order, although I’ve categorised them into Authors, Actor and Musicians, but here we go!

Holly Bourne

Image result for holly bourne

It’s more her books than her as a person – I don’t know much about her in real life. But her series The Spinster Club, specifically Am I Normal Yet? touches me so much. That book just made me want to run and hug her. So many passages I felt like praising and ugh. So. Good.

Queen Rowling (aka J K Rowling)

Image result for j k rowling

I mean need I say anymore?

Emma Watson

Image result for emma watson

Like, above, need I say more?

Dodie Clark

Image result for dodie clark

Alright, I feel very millennial for putting a YouTuber on this list, but hear me out. Her music, her songwriting – it really inspires me. Like really. It’s incredible to see how much she’s developed over the years. You just need to compare the likes of Paint to Secret For The Mad. Both good songs in their own way but Secret For The Mad just has that beautiful intricacy that she’s developed and I strive to create. She’s one of those people that I can be jealous of and happy for at the same time. It’s annoying, but holy moly is she good. Please check her out!

Janet Devlin

Image result for janet devlin 2015

You may know her as the shy Irish kid who was on X Factor a few years ago but I fell in love with her on X Factor and have followed her progress since. It’s amazing to see how she’s doing what she’s doing without selling out. She’s staying true to herself (or at least it seems that way) and I really hope she hits it big sometime soon 🙂

Barrett Wilbert Weed

Barrett-Wilbert-Weed--54-Below--Concert--Interview--Set-List--Actress--Broadway

You know, although I said no particular order, Barrett is my favourite. She’s a musical theatre actress/singer with the most incredible voice I’ve heard. Literally. It’s so different and refreshing and oh man… When. She. Belts. Holy crap. Admittedly I think she can be a love it or hate it kind of singer, but I’m clearly in love. I’ve got no more words. But she’s amazing. Barrett, if you’re reading this (lol as if she ever would), I request you make an album of you covering every Taylor Swift song ever.
Check out some of my favourite songs/covers of hers’ HERE and HERE.

Well they were just a handful of women who inspire me. There’s of course loads of other people, including some who I don’t follow as religiously but am inspired by their story, like Audrey Hepburn and Ada Lovelace. But that post would take too long and it’s probably no longer International Woman’s Day in some countries. I just wanted to talk about my favourites.

What women inspire you? Let me know down below!

Check out the International Women’s Day website HERE.

Byeee! 🙂

Leave a Reply

