First Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon!

on

As the title may suggest, this post is about the Dewey’s 24 hour readathon which, as you may guess, is a 24 hour readathon. Yeah.

Now to my reader friends out there, I have a confession to make…. It’s been about 3 months since I finished a book.

There! I said it! And I know. It’s so bad as someone who calls themself a reader. I’ve just been in the biggest slump ever. Which is one of the reasons why I’m doing this readathon. Maybe I just need a jumpstart. So here I am, announcing my participation in this thing. I also thought I’d post my TBR for the challenge. Now if you’ve known me for a while, you’ll know that I don’t like doing TBRs because it honestly depends on situation and I don’t like putting the pressure on myself. But given this is such a short period of time, I feel like a TBR is justified, even just as a guide. So.

1: When We Rise by Cleve Jones

Image result for when we rise

I don’t know if you saw the docudrama-mini-series (yup) of the same name on a month or two ago but that TV show was inspired by this book. It’s a non-fiction, autobiography I guess of Cleve Jones, an LGBT activist who was part of the huge LGBT movement in the US during the 70s and I guess up till now. The topic is so important and even just the first 30 minutes of the first episode just made me so angry about the attitudes, once I (almost) finished it, I just had to buy the book and I’m enjoying it. Edging through slowly but I really hope I can crash through it this weekend 🙂

2: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Image result for glass sword

I’ve had this book for a good while now and I read and loved Red Queen so I have no idea why I haven’t gotten around it this yet.

3: Wonder Struck/The Marvels by Brian Selznick

Image result for wonder brian selznickImage result for the marvels

If Hugo Cabret is anything to go by, these two books shouldn’t be too long and therefore little breaks between the heavier stuff I read. I bought them back in January/February so I ought to read them.

So that’s my short TBR for Dewey’s. Nothing too daunting. I’m almost half way through When We Rise so I’d love to finish that. I also have the whole time off (although I need to sleep and cut my hair) so I’m going to try read all Saturday and Sunday!

What about you? Are you taking part? If you, what are you reading? Let me know in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

